Log in

Kansas School

Public Relations Association

Supporting Kansas Public Education
Log in

Newcomer of the Year

The Newcomer of the Year Award recognizes a member who:

  • advocates for public education in Kansas through work in the nominee's school district and/or the State of Kansas;
  • is committed to a creative, dedicated and professional approach to school communications;
  • is active in the Kansas School Public Relations Association as a member who demonstrates excellent personal communications skills, a commitment to being involved in KanSPRA activities, and the desire to accept chapter leadership responsibilities.

To be eligible, members must be employed full-time in the field of public school education, communications and/or public relations for no more than 24 months at the time of the nomination deadline and a current member of KanSPRA. The award recipient receives a scholarship to attend the NSPRA national seminar, which includes paid registration and $500 in reimbursable conference expenses. The award is presented at the annual state conference.

Newcomer of the Year Award winners:

  • 2021 - Maria Kury, Wichita
  • 2020 - Elishia Seals, Pittsburg
  • 2019 - Rachel Thomas, Lawrence
  • 2018 - Erin Schulte, Goddard
  • 2017 - Misty Kruger, Topeka
  • 2016 - Candace Leduc, Seaman
  • 2015 - Dane Baxa, Goddard
  • 2014 - Nicole Gibbs, Andover
  • 2013 - Lori Buselt, Maize
  • 2009 - Christine Splichal, Spring Hill
  • 2008 - Michelle Herpich, Service Center at Clearwater
  • 2007 - Kristin Magette, Eudora

Follow our activities

© Kansas School Public  Relations Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software