Log in

Kansas School

Public Relations Association

Supporting Kansas Public Education
Log in

Distinguished Service

This award recognizes a member who: 

  • advocates for public education in Kansas through work in the nominee's school district and/or the State of Kansas;
  • remains committed to a creative, dedicated and professional approach to school communications;
  • is active in the Kansas School Public Relations Association as a member who demonstrates excellent personal communications skills, shares expertise and best practices with colleagues, and supports and encourages fellow KanSPRA members in their efforts to promote public education.

To be eligible, members must be employed full-time in school public education, communications or public relations for at least five years and a current member of KanSPRA. The award is presented at the annual state conference in the fall. Members can only receive this award one time.

KanSPRA Distinguished Service Award winners:

  • 2021 Ken DeSieghardt, Patron Insight
  • 2020 - David Smith, Shawnee Mission
  • 2019 - Maggie Kolb, Olathe
  • 2018 - Martin Weishaar, Auburn Washburn
  • 2017 - Kristi McNerlin, Blue Valley
  • 2016 - Nancy Horst, Emporia
  • 2015 - Julie Boyle, Lawrence
  • 2013 - Keturah Austin, Andover
  • 2012 - Carol Pitts, KASB
  • 2012 - Annette Singletary, Goddard
  • 2008 - Wendy Johnson, APR, Wichita
  • 2007- Karen McDermott, APR, Maize

Follow our activities

© Kansas School Public  Relations Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software